The Fruit of Repentance

repentance

“In those days there appeared John the Baptist, preaching in the Wilderness (Desert) of Judea and saying, Repent (think differently; change your mind, regretting your sins and changing your conduct), for the kingdom of heaven is at hand.  This is he who was mentioned by the prophet Isaiah when he said, The voice of one crying in the wilderness [shouting in the desert], Prepare the road for the Lord, make His highways straight (level, direct).”  (Matthew 3:1-3)

“Bring forth fruit that is consistent with repentance [let your lives prove your change of heart].”  (Matthew 3:8)

As in the days of John the Baptist, so it is today.  The kingdom of heaven, the return of Jesus Christ is drawing near and the echoes of John’s cries in the wilderness are ringing out 2000 years later.  Repent!  Turn around to God!

In many churches today, repentance is not preached, people are not being told the consequences of sin.  Their sins are being placated with “it’s OK, grace covers it all” with no instructions to repent and turn away from sin.  It’s a slippery slope that is leading people AWAY from the Lord.

A person who has not repented and confessed their sins to the Lord is not going to make it into the kingdom of heaven.  It is just that simple.  We can justify ANYTHING to ourselves and our hearts will lie to us.  The Bible says “the heart of man is desperately wicked, who can know it?”  I used to drink a fifth of rum every night and tell myself that God’s grace would cover my sin, but deep inside I knew if I died, I was going to bust Hell wide open!

I had to repent, I had to think differently, I had to change my mind and regret my sin..my conduct had to change.  I had to quit drinking and begin walking WITH Jesus instead of away from Him.  A repentant heart, will bear the fruit of it.  You will see it in their every day lives.

How is my life different?  I haven’t had a drink since March 2009.  I spend time with Jesus every day: in His Word and in His presence.  My life is transformed.  I’m on a different road.  Repentance is the most liberating thing you can do for yourself.  Repentance is where God’s grace is found.  Grace is not an excuse to sin more and more.  It is only extended when we repent of our sinful ways and turn back to Him and then let our lives bear the fruit of repentance.

The ball is in our court: continue to lie to ourselves that God’s “grace” allows our sin or repent and get free once and for all?  All it takes is one sentence: Jesus I repent…and go from there.

Blessings everyone…

Pray the prayer: https://fromtheheartogod.wordpress.com/meet-jesus-here/

This entry was posted in Daily Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Fruit of Repentance

  1. Eliza says:

    That would be Paul.

    Like

  2. Eliza says:

    Amen and amen! The work of Christ was evident when he was transformed from a vile persecutor of the church, to one who willing laid done his life for Christ’s Beloved Bride. God bless you:)

    Like

  3. voicewilderness1 says:

    I love your simple, straightforward, concise blog. Best of all it lines up with the Word of God.

    Like

    • mickitodd58 says:

      Thank you so much for the kind words! Yes, I just open my Bible and let the Holy Spirit say what He wants to say…Blessings to you!

      Like

  4. voicewilderness1 says:

    Reblogged this on Voice in the Wilderness and commented:
    This is beautiful in it’s simplicity and straightforwardness.

    Like

Leave a Reply

