Words of Life

wordschangelife

“You offspring of vipers!  How can you speak good things when you are evil (wicked)?  For out of the fullness (the overflow, the superabundance) of the heart the mouth speaks.  The good man from his inner good treasure flings forth good things, and the evil man out of his inner evil storehouse flings forth evil things.  But I tell you,  on the day of judgment men will have to give account for every idle (inoperative, non working) word they speak.  For by your words you will be justified and acquitted, and by your words you will be condemned and sentenced.” (Matthew 34-37)

Words spoken out loud are incredibly important whether we realize it or not.  Words we speak reflect what is in our hearts.  The attitudes of our hearts come out in our words.  What are the “attitudes” of our hearts?  The attitudes include our belief system or our faith in God–do we believe or do we doubt?  Does bitterness, hatred and anger reside there or does forgiveness, love and compassion reside there?  What is residing in our hearts is what is spoken out of our mouths.  Words of life or words of death.

Nobody had a worse mouth than I did.  I spoke words of death all the time and F-bombs flew out of my mouth so easily!  But I turned my mouth over to His Lordship.  The Bible says “set a watch over my mouth and a guard over my lips that I might not sin against You.”  I pray that every single day.  It has taken over two years to get my mouth in line with His Word.  Let me tell you, it is a challenge!

But I am seeing the fruit of my persistence!  The blessings of God are flowing into my life because of my words.  Words are a two-sided coin.  One one side, you have to stop speaking negative over yourself and others.  The other side of the coin is to start speaking what the Word of God says about you and others.  The only way to do this is to put faith and belief in God inside your heart and the only way to do that is to spend time in His Word and in His presence.  It’s a daily walk.  It’s moment by moment because every moment we have a choice to make: speak death or speak life.  The Bible says “death and life are in the power of the tongue.”

It starts with a decision to turn over your mouth to His Lordship.  Ask yourself this question: Is what I’m about to say going to speak negative (death) or positive (life)?  Eventually, it will become an ingrained behavior.  You will see the blessings of God start to flow into your life because words of life bring those blessings.

Blessings everyone…

This entry was posted in Daily Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Words of Life

  1. rayrobsquest says:

    I like this. I believe Jesus is referring to more than just our words in this section from Matthew 12. A little earlier, in Matthew 12:30 he says, “Whoever is not with me is against me, and whoever does not gather with me scatters.” This really grabbed my attention the other day…so much so I wrote about it. I now take this as if our actions, or words, are not helping Him gather, then they are causing people to scatter. For me, it emphasizes the significance of making the changes you write of. I certainly never want to be against Him! I never want my words or actions to cause others to scatter! It really makes me think. 🙂

    Like

    • mickitodd58 says:

      This chapter is so full of spiritual truths! It all ties together. I think the bottom line in this whole chapter is the heart. What is in our hearts will dictate every decision we make–to gather or scatter and to speak death or life. Great word!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

