On The Other Side of Obedience

obedience

“There He made a statute and an ordinance for them, and there He tested them, and said, “If you diligently heed the voice of the LORD your God and do what is right in His sight, give ear to His commandments and keep all His statutes, I will put none of the diseases on you which I have brought on the Egyptians.  For I AM the LORD who heals you.” (Exodus 15:26)

“But if you indeed obey His voice and do all that I speak, then I will be an enemy to your enemies and an adversary to your adversaries.”  (Exodus 23:22)

“So Samuel said: Has the LORD as great delight in burnt offerings and sacrifices, as in obeying the voice of the LORD?  Behold, to obey is better than sacrifice, and to heed than the fat of rams.  For rebellion is as the sin of witchcraft, and stubbornness is as iniquity and idolatry.  Because you have rejected the word of the LORD, He also has rejected you from being king.” (I Samuel 15:22-23)

“Jesus answered and said to him, “If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word; and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our home with him.  He who does not love Me does not keep My word; and the word which you hear is not Mine but the Father’s who sent Me.” (John 14:23-24)


There are blessings from God on the other side of obedience to Him.  I know I have experienced this many times in this journey with Him.  There are two kinds of obedience tests that I have gone through.  The first is to obey the Word of God, the Bible’s teachings.  To obey the ten commandments, to love my neighbor as myself.  To be faithful in giving to the house of the LORD and spending time in His presence.  All these things are written in His word as statues, ordinances and commandments.

Then there are the times when He specifically instructs me to do something or say something to or for someone else.  Sometimes this is a very hard thing for me to do.  So there is the choice: to obey or dismiss the command.  So many times I stumble and fall flat on my face but I always get up and try again and again until I am fully obedient.  When that happens, there is always a blessing from Him on the other side of the test.  It has always been that way.  He rewards obedience!

The further you walk with Him, more will be required of you.  For example, I have been given specific prayer assignments for individuals and even a nation.  I have to be diligent and faithful to fulfill this assignment or I can tell His blessings diminish in my life.  I tell you, when you get used to the blessings of God flowing in your life, it doesn’t take long to see that obedience is the ONLY way to go!

What happens when you disobey His Word or a specific command?  The spigot of blessings is immediately turned off.  But then the adversary immediately goes to the Court of Heaven to demand permission to attack you.  How do I know this?  Revelation 12:10 says “Then I heard a loud voice saying in heaven, “Now salvation, and strength, and the kingdom of our God, and the power of His Christ have come, for the accuser of our brethren, who accused them before our God day and night, has been cast down.”  When we disobey, it is noted in Satan’s realm.  He takes that and builds a case against you and goes to the Court of Heaven, where he presents it to the Father.  If there is no repentance or intercession then he could get permission to attack.

It can’t be stressed in strong enough language how critically important it is to REPENT.  Jesus went about preaching REPENT! THE KINGDOM OF HEAVEN IS AT HAND.  You cannot enter the kingdom of God without repentance.  And disobedience and rebellion against God’s known will (written or spoken) sets you OUTSIDE the kingdom and a target for the enemy.

The good news is that disobedience is not the unpardonable sin!  Repent and ask forgiveness and then obey His command.  On the other side of that awaits a blessing.  He is a rewarder of those who diligently seek Him and part of seeking is obeying His commandments.  It may be hard to obey Him, but it is worth it when you get to the other side.  The added benefit is that obedience to a hard thing makes you stronger spiritually and in every way.  It gives you more confidence to keep pushing on.  Are you struggling with a situation that requires obedience to Him?  Settle it in your heart and mind to obey and He will help you do it.  I know, because that is where I am at right now.

Blessings everyone…

This entry was posted in Daily Teaching and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

