The Joy of Forgiveness

jesus forgiving

“Blessed is he whose transgression is forgiven, whose sin is covered.  Blessed is he man whom the LORD does not impute iniquity, and in whose spirit there is no deceit.  When I kept silent, my bones grew old through my groaning all the day long.  For day and night Your hand was heavy upon me; my vitality was turned into the drought of summer.

I acknowledged my sin to You, and my iniquity I have not hidden.  I said, “I will confess my transgressions to the LORD.”  And You forgave the iniquity of my sin. Selah.” (Psalm 32:1-5)


Forgiveness is a beautiful word.  It is beautiful because it brings unity back into a relationship.  When we offend someone or someone offends us there is a rift, a division that blocks the relationship from progressing.  All sorts of negative emotions start simmering causing further deterioration in the relationship.  Somebody has to forgive or it will continue to deteriorate.  When forgiveness is brought into the situation, healing comes with it bringing restoration.

For example, a husband and wife have ample opportunities to become offended at one another simply because of the intimacy of their relationship.  Money, sex and children are the top arguments between husbands and wives.  If each refuses to forgive then the marriage will weaken and divorce could result from it, when a simple “honey, I’m sorry” can begin the process of healing.  The best part of a fight is making up!

It’s the same with God.  When we sin against Him by disobeying His Word, then our sin brings immediate separation because God is HOLY.  Sin cannot co-exist with God’s holiness.  Because of this the relationship has a rift.  However, when we confess our sin and ask His forgiveness, He is faithful to forgive us and restore the fellowship with Him and the rift is mended.  They say that “confession is good for the soul.”  A truer statement has not been made.  Confession of our sin to the Father is healing and cleansing.  He knows about it anyway, so we may as well tell Him about it.

If you are reading this and you know that your relationship with the LORD is divided because of sin.  No matter how heinous the sin is, His Blood can still cover it.  But it won’t happen until you start with “Father I have sinned…”  Forgiveness of sin opens up so many possibilities and blessings from God.  He is waiting to restore you…

Meet Jesus Here…

Blessings everyone…

This entry was posted in Daily Teaching and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

