And He Believed…

onlybeieve

“And behold, the word of the LORD came to him, saying “This one shall not be your heir, but one who will come from your own body shall be your heir.”  Then He brought him outside and said, “Look now toward heaven, and count the stars if you are able to number them.”  And He said to him, “So shall your descendants be.”  AND HE BELIEVED IN THE LORD, and He accounted it to him for righteousness.” (Genesis 15:4-6)

“But when Jesus heard it, He answered him, saying, “Do not be afraid; ONLY BELIEVE, and she will be made well.” (Luke 8:50)


Perhaps the hardest thing a person can do is believe in an invisible God for an impossible situation.  It seems like there are so many variables to receiving the impossible into our lives.  So much resistance.  Truly, when the Bible tells us to “fight the good fight” it is no exaggeration!  We have to fight our own doubts, other people’s opinions and the whispered lies of the enemy in our ear.  Our eyes tell us of the impossibility of it.

Yet, God has never wavered in His instructions for our victory and He never will.  He says “ONLY BELIEVE.”  When we can get that revelation into our hearts and truly believe in God’s ability AND willingness to deliver us, then we too, like Abraham, can receive the righteousness of the LORD into our lives.

I have to confess that most of the battles I have engaged Satan in have not delivered what I was believing God for.  For example, my father had a terminal brain tumor and the doctors gave him one year to live.  I believed with all my heart that God would raise him up and heal that impossible situation.  For a whole year I poured every ounce of faith I had at that time into it.  I saw God do many things: He touched many people through my journey.  Yet in the end my father died a year later, just as the doctor’s predicted.  Today, my father is with Jesus celebrating eternal life.  Through this hard battle, I became deeply rooted in God.  I came to know how much authority that a believer has in this earth.

Fast forward to the 2012 presidential election.  I believed God was going to turn this nation around by putting a man in the office of president who actually loved America.  I fully expected God to do this.  I poured every ounce of faith I had at that time into this.  Once again, I believed with all my heart, God was going to have mercy on this nation and give us a righteous leader.  For several months I did this.  In the end, we have the same president and the country has continued its downward spiral.  I can remember being so angry that what I had wholeheartedly believed God for didn’t happen.  I remember crying out to God, “was all my faith a wasted effort?”  He said, “all of your faith has been recorded in the books, we are now turning to a new page.  Leave this in the past.”  What a comfort for me to know that even though I didn’t “win” the battle, it wasn’t wasted.

I have learned, that whatever battle I engage in is NEVER wasted because choosing to BELIEVE God is always accounted to us as righteousness.  Isn’t God good?  We even win when we don’t win the battle!  I would encourage you brethren to actively seek to believe God anyway.  You never know what will do with your faith in Him.

Blessings everyone…

 

This entry was posted in Daily Teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

