Hallways of the Heart

 

“Now hope does not disappoint because the love of God has been poured out in our hearts by the Holy Spirit.” (Romans 5:5)

“Every way of a man [is] right in his own eyes: but the LORD pondereth the hearts.” (Proverbs 21:2)

“A new heart also will I give you, and a new spirit will I put within you: and I will take away the stony heart out of your flesh, and I will give you a heart of flesh.” (Ezekiel 36:26)

“I the LORD search the heart, [I] try the reins, even to give every man according to his ways, [and] according to the fruit of his doings.” (Jeremiah 17:10)

“Behold, I stand at the door, and knock: if any man hears My voice, and open the door, I will come into him, and will sup with him, and he with Me.” (Revelation 3:20)

“Jesus answered and said to him, “If anyone loves Me, he will keep My word; and My Father will love him, and We will come to him and make Our home with him.” (John 14:23)


Salvation begins and stays in the heart.  We ask Jesus Christ to come into our heart and save us from our sins and He does it gladly.  Our hearts are like a house full of rooms and hallways.  When we invite Him in to save us, He comes into our heart and His light of love is shed abroad in our heart at that moment.  Light is now in our hearts for the first time.

Jesus then begins to walk the hallways of our heart and because He has been invited in, He will go into a room that is open or even ajar and begin to clean it out and spread the light of His love in it.  Each room He goes into, our heart gets more and more light in it.

Then He comes to a door that is closed but not locked and He’ll look at us for permission to enter.  He doesn’t barge in where we don’t want Him to go.  He’ll go into that room and spread the light just like the other rooms.  He continues to walk through the hallways until He sees the locked doors where He can’t enter and spread the light.  He even sees doors that are hidden and locked up tight.  This saddens Him.

What are these rooms in our hearts?  They are rooms of relationships between us and other people over the course of our lives.  The rooms that are opened to Him are relationships that we are comfortable and secure in.  Rooms that are in the darkened hallways and locked up tight are rooms of pain.  Pain that is too difficult to face, so we refuse to let Him touch it.

Recently, I discovered a room that I thought was opened but it wasn’t.  I was worshipping the Lord with some friends one night where I had an encounter with the Lord.  I gave Him all the keys to my heart.  He asked for them during our worship.  I didn’t think anything more about it until the next morning when I encountered a person who had deeply wounded me several times over the course of a few years.

Jesus had cracked the door to this room that I had hidden all the pain and rage and yes…hatred for this person. It was locked away in a dark corner of my heart.  It was so secret, I didn’t even realize it was full of hate.  After all, I thought I had dealt with it over and over again.   But God sees every single thing in our hearts.  We can’t hide anything from His gaze.  His love for me is so great, that He wanted me to be free of this awful thing.  Well, I started having some kind of meltdown right there in Church of all places!  I was crying and I couldn’t help it.

Finally, I made it home, and I knew I had to get to my prayer closet and let Jesus counsel with me.  You know He is our Wonderful Counselor and He is not afraid to deal with the ugliest side of us!  He asked me how I felt about this person and as I began to tell Him, He flung the door to this room open wide and years of toxic emotions came pouring out.  For over two hours I spewed out my hatred of this person to Him.  Finally, I was emotionally spent and honestly couldn’t think of a thing left to say!

I perceived that this “room” had been swept out, but not disinfected.  That took a couple of more days, but finally, the blood of Jesus cleansed everything away and I can honestly pray for this person’s well-being and blessings.

This whole incident brought me on a journey to find the fulness of the agape love of God.  I realized from this journey that unlike brotherly love and romantic love, agape love is a CHOICE and not a feeling.  Feelings and emotions have nothing to do with it.  That took all the pressure off for me!  Agape love is action-oriented.  It does good because that what God does.  All this time I was tormented because I could not “feel” love for this person. Isn’t God good?

This dark room in my heart was blocking the blessings of God from flowing into my life.  He has so many blessings for me and He knew I was trying to find out why my life was spiraling downward for no apparent reason.  He revealed the root cause and I yielded myself to the Great Physician who binds up the broken hearted and heals and saves to the uttermost!  His mercy truly does endure forever.

I realized that even though I had hatred in my heart, His GRACE was extended to me until He revealed it.  The enemy was not allowed to do what he really wanted to do because God set His grace around me.  Once revealed, though, I was required to let Him help me.  If I would have chosen to hold on to the hate, Satan would have been allowed to attack me.  It wouldn’t have been good I can tell you that!

I realized that Jesus does walk the hallways of our hearts examining all our rooms.  When we give Him the keys to all the rooms, then He can go in and begin to shed His love and His light throughout our heart.  I also realized that we have people and relationships throughout our lives, it is important to give Him the key every time a new person enters our life.  Every new relationship adds a room in our heart that we need to give Him access to.  Life throws curveballs sometimes and the more Jesus Christ is LORD of our lives, the more He can help us avoid the traps and stumbling blocks of the enemy.  Isn’t God good?

What has happened since Jesus healed me from the inside out?  I got a hundred dollar a month raise for one thing!  I feel His presence again.  The color is returning to my life again.  Thank You so much, Jesus, for healing me and setting me free!

Thank you all for listening to my story.  I pray that someone, somewhere can get free from their dark room.  If this is you, ask Jesus to come and counsel with you.  He will.

Inner Healing Prayers…

Blessings everyone…

 

This entry was posted in Ponderings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

