Widow Woman Economics

 

“The wife of a member of the prophetic brotherhood appealed to Elisha.  “Your servant my husband is dead,” she said “and you know how your servant revered Yahweh.  A creditor has now come to take my two children and make them his slaves.”  Elisha said, “What can I do for you?  Tell me, what have you in the house?”  “Your servant has nothing in the house,” she replied “except a pot of oil.”  Then he said, “Go outside and borrow jars from all your neighbors, empty jars and not too few.  When you come back, shut the door on yourself and your sons, and pour the oil into all these jars, putting each aside when it is full.”  So she left him; and she shut the door on herself and her sons; they passed her the jars and she went on pouring.  Whe the jars were full, she said to her son, “Pass me another jar.”  “There are no more” he replied.  Then the oil stopped flowing.  She went and told  the man of God, who said, “go and sell the oil and redeem your pledge; you and your children can live on the remainder.”  (2 Kings 4:1-7)

“But after a while the stream dried up, for the country had no rain.  And then the word of Yahweh came to him (Elijah), “Up and go to Zarephath, a Sidonian town and stay there.  I have ordered a widow there to give you food.”  So he went off to Sidon.  And when he reached the city gate, there was a widow gathering sticks; addressing her he said, “Please bring a little water in a vessel for me to drink.”  She was setting off to bring it when he called after her.  “Please” he said “bring me a scrap of bread in your hand.”  “As Yahweh your God lives,” she replied “I have no baked bread, but only a handful of meal in a jar and a little oil in a jug; I am just gathering a stick or two to go and prepare this for myself and my son to eat, and then we shall die.”  But Elijah said to her, “Do not be afraid, go and do as you have said; but first make a little scone of it for me and bring it to me, and then make some for yourself and for your son.  for thus Yahweh speaks, the God of Israel: “Jar of meal shall not be spent, jug of oil shall not be emptied, before the day when Yahweh send rain on the face of the earth.”  The woman went and did as Elijah told her and they ate the food, she, himself and her son.  The jar of meal was not spent nor the jug of oil emptied, just as Yahweh had foretold through Elijah.” (I Kings 17:7-16)


God is the defender of the widow and the orphans.  Both of these widow women were in desperate circumstances.  They literally had no way out of it.  They had nothing.  No resources to pull themselves out of this pit….or so they thought.  But God saw the plights of both of these women and He brought His servants across their paths to bring deliverance.

Elisha’s widow came to him to claim favor because her dead husband was one of the prophets.  He was an associate of Elisha’s.  He was her last hope to keep her sons from becoming slaves of a creditor.  In those days, a widow with no sons was in a really bad spot.  In her desperation, she went to Elisha and made a claim based on her husband’s good name and reputation with the prophet Elisha.  She had just a little bit of oil.  Nothing in her house to sell to make enough money to pay off the creditor.  But God only needs a little bit of nothing to create a miracle!  She followed Elisha’s instructions and borrowed a bunch of empty jars from all her friends and neighbors.  She began pouring the oil from her little jar and God multiplied that oil until she filled every single jar she borrowed.  When there were no more empty jars the oil stopped flowing.  She had enough oil to sell and completely pay off that debt!  Her sons were saved from slavery and they had no debts and a brighter future.

Elijah’s widow wasn’t even looking for help.  She had resigned her and her son to die after their last meal.  But God sent Elijah to turn it all around!  She had just enough meal and oil to feed her and her son, but Elijah said “feed me first.”  She was challenged to give out of her desperate need back to God.  How difficult that must have been, but she obeyed Elijah’s instructions and when she did, she received a decree from God Himself that her meal and oil would not fail until rain came on the earth when she could once again get supplies.  She just kept on making cakes for herself, Elijah and her son day after day and the supplies never stopped flowing.

Both of these widows have one thing in common: they OBEYED the Word of the prophets–the men of God.  They obeyed God’s instructions to them and they were delivered of their plights.  Both families were spared death and destruction because they believed the word of the man of God and they acted on their words.  God will ALWAYS reward obedience…Always.

I have found myself in similar circumstances with the loss of a job in recent months.  I am literally walking on the water with the Lord for my provisions.  I am finding Him so faithful!  Yesterday He spoke the words: Widow Woman Economics into my spirit.  I knew He wanted to do a blog teaching on it.  I pray that someone that is in the same boat I’m in can find hope for a brighter tomorrow.

My instructions from the Lord is to take one day at a time.  Jesus said in Matthew 6:25 “That is why I am telling you not to worry about your life and what you are to eat, nor about your body and how you are to clothe it.  Surely life means more than food, and the body more than clothing!”  “Set your hearts on His kingdom first, and on His righteousness, and all these other things will be given you as well.  So do not worry about tomorrow: tomorrow will take care of itself.  Each day has enough trouble of its own. (Matthew 6:33-34).  Every day I wake up and think about what I need for that day.  Today is Sunday.  My house note is paid, my car note is paid, my electric bill is paid, I have plenty of food for today, I have gas in my car, my water is on, I have plenty of clothes.  Today is a good day!

In widow woman economics, I am trusting and I am depending on God to provide for me.  He told me that it is as easy as opening my mailbox.  Since I had to leave my job, He has given me hundreds of dollars, supernatural favor with creditors and has given me a “divine download” for a new cookbook to write!  Through this journey I am confident that God is going to bring me out on the other side victorious in every area of my life.  He can and will do the same for you too.

Blessings everyone…

 

This entry was posted in Daily Teaching and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

