“The Tether of Regret

 

“Not that I have become perfect yet; I have not yet won, but I am still running, trying to capture the prize for which Christ Jesus captured for me.  I can assure you, my brothers, I am far from thinking that I have already won.  All I can say is that I forget the past and I strain ahead for what is still to come; I am racing for the finish, for the prize to which God calls us upwards to receive in Christ Jesus.” (Philippians 3:12-14)

“No need to recall the past, no need to think about what was done before, See, I am doing a new deed, even now it comes to light; can you not see it?  Yes, I am making a road in the wilderness, paths in the wilds.” (Isaiah 43:18-19)


Regret is a hard thing to live with.  It ties you to a past that God has already forgotten.  It keeps you from fully entering into God’s best for you.  I am still trying to break the tether of regret over my life.  I have made so many mistakes over the course of my life that it makes me sad to think of what I could have had and where I could be today if only I had done what I was supposed to.  This thinking is a tether.  It is the tether of regret that keeps you from soaring like an eagle in the fulness of God’s best.

Perhaps the biggest regret I have is my revolving door relationship with Jesus.  I  was faithful for a few years, then I would fall away and come back only to fall back again.  I wish I could go back and change the course of my life and live true to my God without wavering.  This regret has instilled a belief in my heart that God is disappointed in me for failing Him so many times.  This is a lie because the Bible clearly says that God casts our sins behind His back.  As far as He is concerned, I’ve always been faithful.  So why do I still regret?  I am still tethered to the past failures.

The simple fact is that I am holding myself accountable.  I have not forgiven myself for these failures.  Yes, it is possible to hold unforgiveness towards ourselves!  The Bible says we are to guard our hearts.  We are to examine our motives and heart issues diligently.  If I’m brutally honest with myself, I will admit that I believe that I am not good enough for God to use.  I am the proverbial “red-headed step-child” that is just tolerated but never loved.  This is a lie from the enemy.  My mind knows this to be a lie, yet I’m still tethered.

How do we get free from this?  We must make the decision and realize that because God has cleaned us up through the blood of Jesus, we have NO RIGHT to hold our past against ourselves. We have to release ourselves from the past through forgiveness.  We have to repent for the sin of unforgiveness towards ourselves.  Most importantly we must receive God’s forgiveness into our minds and hearts.  Here is a prayer to get free:

Father, I come to Your throne of Grace in the name of Jesus Christ.  I confess and acknowledge to You that I am full of regret of my past failures.  I have confessed the sins of my past to You and repented of it all, but I have not forgiven myself for these failures.  I first repent Father of holding unforgiveness against myself.  Please forgive me for the sin of unforgiveness.  I ask to be cleansed with the Blood of Jesus for this.

Father, I now forgive myself for all my past mistakes and failures.  I forgive myself for the rebellion against You and Your word.  I break the tether of regret right now in the name of Jesus!  I release myself from the mental prison of unforgiveness.  I release myself into Your perfect will for my life, free from the past forever!  Father thank You for creating in me a clean heart and renewing a right spirit within me!  I receive Your forgiveness and love and thank You for loving me!  Thank You for the freedom to rise up with wings as eagles!  In the mighty name of Jesus Christ, I pray.  Amen and Amen.

I have prayed this prayer and I feel no regret of my past at this moment.  He is so faithful to heal us from the inside out.  He wants us free from the past.  If you are still tethered to your past, you can be free too.  God has a good, good plan for your life but you can’t move into it until the tether of regret is cut.  Let Jesus set you free today!

Blessings everyone…

 

This entry was posted in Daily Teaching and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to “The Tether of Regret

  1. Zulma says:

    With havin so much content do you ever run into any issues of plagorism or copyright infringement?
    My site has a lot of unique content I’ve either written myself or outsourced
    but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all
    over the internet without my agreement. Do you know any
    ways to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d
    definitely appreciate it.

    Like

    • Micki Todd says:

      Hi Zulma – for me, I don’t care about copyright infringement because I want the word to get out all over the Internet. I’m spreading the Gospel of Jesus Christ and it’s free so I really don’t care if they take it and use it. You could do some Google searches to see how to stop copyright infringement. That is where I would start if it was an issue for me. Take care!

      Like

  2. Ned says:

    Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post!
    It is the little changes that produce the greatest changes.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

